Who loves you? I do

I’m an empty nester mother. Maybe my kids will send me a text this Sunday on Mother’s Day, if I’m lucky. But who said Mother’s Day is all about waiting for acknowledgement from your kids? I’ve never had the fairy tale, mushy thing going on anyway.

I wouldn’t  be a mom if it wasn’t for them right? So I decided to send my kids Mother’s Day cards. I went off to the store to check out the greeting card selection. I saw cards for godmothers, someone who has been like a mother to me, grandmothers, sisters, aunts, mothers-to-be, and friends.  Why wouldn’t they have a card to wish your kids a thank you  to have had the opportunity to be their Mom? Twenty-six years ago I wanted so much to be a mother. I wanted to be the best mom ever. I was given a gift that not every woman gets the privilege to experience.

So this is the card I chose. Who Loves You? I do. Because I wouldn’t be a Mom if I didn’t have you! Happy Mother’s Day to the best kids ever.  Call if what you like; reverse psychology, guilt-trip, whatever. A new tradition of expressing maternal love is born.

4 responses to “Who loves you? I do

    • My daughter was in the midst of finals at college and she was so stressed out she was crying on the phone last night. She had to drive 5 hours yesterday to move into her apartment for the summer for her internship that start tomorrow. She said she mailed me a card that should arrive this week. My son, He will probably call today or send a text. That’s the best he can do. He doesn’t do any better for my husband either. Both young working kids out of state, they’ll figure it someday. Motherhood is just different at this time 🙂

Leave a comment